Water Conservation To Optimize Garden In Drought

Being a gardener in Colorado has been quite stressful in the past few years as there has been severe drought happening at this state. Watering restriction is imposed in the city, which are not giving enough water to lawns and plants. To make it more water efficient, I’ve had to renovate my garden.  Now, I’m the only one in my neighborhood with a garden that isn’t completely brown because of the techniques I’ve employed. If you just want to save water or you live in an area that is going through a drought, use some of these techniques as well.

Water Conservation To Optimize Garden In Drought.png

  1. Took out all plants

I had to water the soil I was using about twice as much as necessary in order to get it to actually absorb into the roots. It is because the soil didn’t retain water very well. You can fix it by loading the soil up with lots of compost, if you have the same problem. It will not only prevent water from escaping, but also encourages the plant’s roots to able to survive more and to be healthy.

I replaced all my plants once I was done optimizing the soil for my new low water consumption plan. The amount of water necessary to keep them alive reflected by the placement of all my plants. I placed them based on the amount of water required from one side of the garden to the other progressively. I don’t have to waste water on plants that don’t need it as much on my new arrangement.

  1. Drip irrigation system

Drip irrigation was another move on my part that reduced the amount of water I needed to fully water my garden. The system constantly drip into your plants so that every single drop is absorbed, which is great. Usually the roots get too overwhelmed with the sheer amount of water in the soil with traditional watering systems. Lots just seeps right past, as a result. The drip system takes care all of these.

  1. Change into less water dependent plants

You might consider which plants you could replace with less water dependent plants if you still seem to need more water than you can supply to your garden. Look for Heavenly Bamboo for a good shrub that doesn’t use up more than its share of water. It will also look decorative in any garden. You can also choose herbs like rosemary which are useful in preparing meals, and are rarely thirsty.

Look for Penstemon varieties like Garnet, Apple Blossom, Moonbeam, and Midnight to find flowers that will still be lush and beautiful despite the lower amounts of water. Hummingbirds and butterflies will be attracted with varieties like Cosmos and Yarrow.  The fact that all these plants don’t look rugged and withstanding is the best part. Your neighbors won’t be saying that you downgraded your plants just to withstand the drought. They will be marveling over how you keep your flowers so beautiful in the midst of the watering regulations instead.

The Lavender plant is one of my favorite drought resistant plants. I have a lot of things to talk about when it comes to Lavender. They look unbelievably gorgeous in your garden in a large group and hardly require any water to flourish. Another personal favorite is Pineapple sage which is 2+ foot shrub that smells strangely of pineapple and also major attracter of hummingbirds. It has useful leaves that can add taste to drinks.

So if you’re dealing with a drought and perhaps watering regulations like in the position I was, I suggest you to try some of the things I’ve mentioned. I think you’ll still be able to benefit even if you’re just trying to conserve water or be generally more efficient with it.

Leave a Reply

